Great Plains Interstate Fire Compact


 Colorado - North Dakota - South Dakota - New Mexico - Nebraska - Wyoming - Saskatchewan




Operating Plan        Compact Links     



As a result of 5 years of drought starting in 2000, and a need for the Great Plains states to better share resources and information during peak fire season, the Great Plains Interstate Fire Compact was formed.  The first three states to join the compact were Colorado, South Dakota and Wyoming.  Their legislatures passed enabling legislation during the 2006 sessions.  Compact member states have air assets, engines, handcrews, dozers and an incident management team available to assist each other in time of need.



For more details contact:

Jim Strain, Deputy Director

South Dakota Division of Wildland Fire

3305 W. South St.

Rapid City, SD   57702

Phone: 605-393-8011

Fax: 605-393-8044